Background image
Name sign
Tab based menu

2016 part 6/6 : November → December

20.12.16

CULTES DES GHOULES - COVEN, OR EVIL WAYS INSTEAD OF LOVE

Cultes des Ghoules - Coven, or Evil Ways Instead of Love Dice 5/6

Hells Headbangers, 25.11.16
Polish Cultes des Ghoules have released their third album, an epic piece of music of almost a hundred minutes, that's also a concept written in theatrical form.
When I realized that time was running out on me due to hectic activities and too many duties and responsibilities, I considered waiting till the digital platform release date of February 17th, but when occasional listeners started hailing Coven as one of the year's highlights, I found out that I couldn't (or didn't want to) wait.
Coven, or Evil Ways Instead of Love is a huge musical lift since my only encounter with them.

barbed wire
17.12.16

SALLOW - I: THE GREAT WORK

Sallow - I: The Great Work Dice 2/6

Sick Man Getting Sick Records, 16.12.16
The Great Work is the first part in a trilogy from this black metal band from somewhere in the northern part of New York state.
The Great Work is also a highly misleading title from what strictly speaking ain't a great work what so ever. The album's got just about enough songs to fit an EP. Namely four. Even the duration of just over half an hour could pass as a prolonged EP.
But to be fair, there is a perfectly good explanation to this, and if The Great Work had been marketed as a demo, I would perhaps have been a bit more tolerant.

barbed wire
17.12.16

NERODIA - VANITY UNFAIR

Nerodia - Vanity Unfair Terningkast 4

Revalve Records, 01.07.16
Somewhere in the borderline between the extreme metal troika death, black and thrash, Italian Nerodia meet up for action. The band supposedly evolved from a pure thrash band with punk influences, but are now interspersed with every genre, and they're not easy to place on the map.
All four members have other bands to relate to. Drummer David Folchitto, residing in Stormlord and having a past in Novembre and more, is with his six active bands and several live commitments probably the busiest of 'em all.

barbed wire
16.12.16

KERKER - BAN ALL LIGHTS

Kerker - Ban All Lights Dice 2/6

Nihilistische KlangKunst, 12.12.16
My knowledge of Kerker was exceptionally limited as I initiated my first meeting with Ban All Lights. That the duo is German and plays black metal was all the information I had access to while forming a poor first impression of the album.
A little more research reveal that the band have celebrate 10 years of existence in 2016, that three of the four members also dwell in another German black metal band named Todeskult, and that this is their second album.
The cover art shows signs of a concept, but I have no knowledge to whether this is the case or not.

barbed wire
15.12.16

IN MY EMBRACE - BLACK WATERS DEEP

In My Embrace - Black Waters Deep Dice 3/6

Sliptrick Records, 10.11.16
I'm preparing for a new era, an era where reviews are presented under the Reviews tab.
I cannot continue to write lengthy articles every time just to hide the fact that I am unable to describe the music, though. (Tongue-in-cheek self-deprecation with only the slightest hint of truth?) Anyway, reviews doesn't have be long, even if there's certain albums one would want to dive deeper into, preferably sinking all the way to the bottom. There's been many such records recently.
This presentation will be a bit shorter, cause, you know, I'm incapable of describing the music, remember.

barbed wire
13.12.16

CRIMSON MOON - ONEIRONAUT

Crimson Moon - Oneironaut Dice 5/6

W.T.C. Productions & Dark Adversary, 06.12.16
It's about time I get to know Crimson Moon. The band has a long history and a solid catalog to show for.
American Scorpios Androctonus is known for his work in Acherontas, as well as previous abode in Ancient and Melechesh, and live performance for Hortus Animae and Zemial. Among other bands. He established Crimson Moon on his own in 1994, and relocating to Germany a few years later. After many years with varying line-up, Scorpios returns to one-man format on his third full-length album.


barbed wire
12.12.16

BETHLEHEM - BETHLEHEM

Bethlehem - Bethlehem Dice 4/6

Prophecy Productions, 02.12.16
German Bethlehem can rightly be called one of “depressive suicidal” black metal's pioneers, but the band's self-destructive self-pity gradually glided into the experimental and quirky.

The band was founded in 1991 and celebrates its 25th anniversary with this self-titled album. The eighth album in the row. It's quite fitting, for the album also marks a return to dsbm.


barbed wire
11.12.16

CREST OF DARKNESS - WELCOME THE DEAD

Crest of Darkness - Welcome The Dead Dice 5/6

My Kingdom Music, 02.12.16
Crest of Darkness from Gjøvik, Norway, has always had a knack for standing out. The band delivers black metal where rigid boundaries, perceived like claustrophobic prison cells, are torn down with a heavy hand. Not to say that the band offers ground-breaking schizophrenia, but they are free to experiment, explore and incorporate exotic elements at will.
A self-created privilege that the band knows to take advantage of without abusing.


barbed wire
08.12.16

SARKOM - ANTI-COSMIC ART

Sarkom - Anti-Cosmic Art Dice 4/6

Dark Essence Records, 02.12.16
In 2006, ten years after tnbm was well established and then some, Sarkom launched their first full work. But within the confines of true black metal, one should never roll out the red carpet and offer the key to the city unconditionally. Each and every one ought to prove they're made of the right stuff.
Now, another ten years into the future, the band from Norway's Oslo area have long since demonstrated that they've got what it takes.
Both current and former members are indeed merited figures in the Norwegian underworld.

barbed wire
06.12.16

CLOUDS - DEPARTE

Clouds - Departe Dice 4/6

Independent, 01.11.16
“Tristesse” is a word that sums up the works of Clouds.
Departe is the band's second release, and the proficient veterans apparently don't waste time on anything less than full-length albums consisting of tear-jerking misery. The irony is that I can't stand films in the same genre.
I rattled off members in connection with a quick Norwegian review of the band's first fall from grace, the self-pitying debut Doliu. With an all-star constellation like the one we find here, a little name-dropping is quite inevitable.


barbed wire
04.12.16

MARIANAS REST - HORROR VACUI

Marianas Rest - Horror Vacui Dice 5/6

Sliptrick records, 10.11.16
Marianas Rest is a gratifying new acquaintance from Finland. But the joy is apparent on my side, for the poor Finns seem oh so sad.
The music can be defined as slow, melodic, melancholic, hushed and doom-infested death metal, but the term death/doom would of course also do the trick.
The band delivered a self-titled demo in 2014, while their 52-minute debut-epos Horror Vacui is my first encounter with them.


barbed wire
30.11.16

KHONSU - THE XUN PROTECTORATE

Khonsu - The Xun Protectorate Dice 6/6

Independent, 18.11.16
Khonsu is the name the Egyptians gave the moon-god, and its meaning is “he who travels across the night sky”.
Khonsu is admittedly not the first metal band in space, figuratively of course, but they can still be called metallic space-pioneers, as they roam where no man has ever travelled before.

Several have attempted to place the futuristic astronauts in a pigeon-hole, but Khonsu execute a form of extreme metal that hasn't gained an “official” name yet.


barbed wire
26.11.16

AENAON - HYPNOSOPHY

Aenaon - Hypnosophy Dice 3/6

code666, 25.11.16
Aenaon released one of my favourites albums of 2014 and they charmed more than just me with Extance. It was an intricate and complex album that I compared to the spoken parts and saxophone from Swedish Shining mixed with the Hammon organ usage of In Lingua Mortua, the psychedelic jazz of Diablo Swing Orchestra, along with conventional jazz, prog and burlesque.
An ambitious project where they nevertheless managed to unravel all the loose threads, and sew everything together in a surprisingly functional way, creating order from chaos.

barbed wire
24.11.16

BÖLZER - HERO

Bölzer - Hero Dice 4/6

Iron Bonehead, 25.11.16
Swiss Bölzer was put on the pedestal after only a single EP. The name quickly spread quicker than wildfire in hot cakes, and the subsequent EP didn't alter this matter.


A rocket start to the career is a dream situation for any fresh band, but it's also a somewhat nerve-racking situation. When the debut is now finally being released, the band has huge expectations to fulfil.



barbed wire
18.11.16

CONCEIVED BY HATE - DEATH & BEYOND

Conceived By Hate - Death & Beyond Dice 4/6

Satanath, Morbid Skull & Deathgasm, 13.11.16
As far as I can remember, Conceived By Hate is the first band from El Salvador who honour us with a visit.
The band plays thrashing death metal with excellent technical skills and ditto sound. The song material on the other hand, needed some time to bloom, but even the better part of this gradually came to its right.
Death & Beyond is, to me, an album that sounds good from the first spin, but that requires some time before it begins to grow. The growth curve is not directly proportional with time...


barbed wire
16.11.16

ETERNAL DEFORMITY - NO WAY OUT

Eternal Deformity - No Way Out Dice 5/6

Temple of Torturous Records, 18.11.16
I discovered Eternal Deformity with their fourth album, and I have a suspicion I'm not alone in doing so. I don't know whether The Beauty Of Chaos represented some kind of breakthrough, but after checking out album number three, Frozen Circus, I quickly realized that the band had taken a step by leaps and bounds in the right direction between the two. For that very reason, I never dug deeper into their back catalogue.


piggtråd
02.11.16

DEATH FETISHIST - CLANDESTINE SACRAMENT

Death Fetishist - Clandestine Sacrament Dice 5/6

Debemur Morti Productions, 28.10.16
A wholehearted effort to visualize Clandestine Sacrament through performance art, would have resulted in severe pain, and possibly loss of life. Placing an industrial size woodchipper in a dystopian landscape of abandoned factories, firing it up before commencing to willingly crawl through the rotating blades, is the first and best adequate attempt my morbid logic envisions. A correspondingly fucked up method would be necessary to fully describe the music through action.


barbed wire





















Gorger