Background image
Name sign
Tab based menu

Reviews Week 41 - 2017

15.10.17

HALLATAR - NO STARS UPON THE BRIDGE

Hallatar - No Stars Upon The Bridge Terningkast 4

Svart Records, 13.10.17
No matter whether music is pitch black, depressive, hateful or gloomy, it can be hard to judge exactly how deep the intentions in reality go - how heartfelt its respective emotions and words are.
In the case of Hallatar, this uncertainty is absent.
Swallow the Sun's Juha Raivio lost his life partner last year. Aleah Starbridge, who played with her husband in Trees of Eternity, passed away on April 18th 2016, and No Stars Upon The Bridge is a eulogy written by Juha in sorrow and loss, in memory of his deceased loved one.

barbed wire
12.10.17

BATTLE DAGORATH - II - FROZEN LIGHT OF ETERNAL DARKNESS

Battle Dagorath - II - Frozen Light of Eternal Darkness Dice 4

Avantgarde Music, 03.10.17
Last year, I missed out on the first part, I - Dark Dragons of the Cosmos. That must be said about most of Battle Dagorath's discography. Five full-lengths and a split, this album included, that is.
I've heard the second album, Ancient Wraith, but I can't brag of having any real knowledge of the band.
Battle Dagorath was started by American Black Sorcerer Battle in 2002, and has had varying line-up through the years. On this and the previous record, the band has worked as a duo...


barbed wire
11.10.17

RAVENTALE - PLANETARIUM

Raventale - Planetarium Dice 5

Ashen Dominion, 05.10.17
We took a quick trip by Raventale and their teaser for the album Planetarium via the single New World Planetarium some three months ago. The album is long since released, and so it's about time we take a closer look at how the overall release sounds.
Planetarium is the eighth full-length of Ukrainian Raventale, an atmospheric black metal one-man band with 12 years of experience.
Except from on the sophomore album, Astaroth has admittedly left the vocal commitments to others.


barbed wire
09.10.17

MOONSCAPE - ENTITY

Moonscape - Entity Terningkast 4

Independent, 02.10.17
One winter day in early 2015, in Gjøvik - some 100 km north of Oslo - a guy named Håvard Lunde decided to start his own band, which he named Moonscape.
Now, some thirty lunar phases later, the complex and elaborate first-album titled Entity is finally finished.
The music is versatile, but can safely be placed in progressive landscapes.
The album is a concept and the guest list is long and impressive.



barbed wire









Grading scale











Gorger