Background image
Name sign
Tab based menu

Reviews Week 33 - 2017

19.08.17

EVILFEAST - FUNERAL SORCERY (Re-release)

Evilfeast - Funeral Sorcery Dice 5

Amor Fati Productions, 16.01.17
This summer, I finally found some time to continue reading The Cult Never Dies Vol. One by Dayal Patterson, a book I started reading a long time ago.
I was especially curious about Evilfeast, one of relatively few bands I wasn't initially familiar with, presented in positive terms in the part of the book dedicated to Poland's early black metal scene.
The album Funeral Sorcery was especially praised, and after seeking out a teaser on YouTube, the craving for more was seriously awakened.


barbed wire
17.08.17

SONS OF CROM - THE BLACK TOWER

Sons of Crom - The Black Tower Dice 3

Nordvis & Bindrune, 18.08.17
Gorger, who only in exceptional cases refers to himself in third person, reviewed the debut Riddle of Steel from the Swedish / Finnish duo Sons of Crom back in 2014, awarding it four points.
In an attempt to classify the band, I ended up with the fairly splaying hybrid melodic doom-based pagan metal with elements from both Viking and the folk metal. Riddle of Steel was a varied, grand and well done affair with a suiting touch of Quorthon in the clean vocals.
The music on the sophomore album is recognizable, although natural development has led to some change.

barbed wire
17.08.17

TEMPLE OF DEMIGOD - PROFANE DOCTRINE (EP) & THE GREAT OLD ONES

Profane Doctrine & The Great Old Ones Dice 4

Black Lion Productions, 09.09.16 & 24.12.16
At the very entry of the annual gluttony season toward the end of 2016, Black Lion released the debut album of Temple of Demigod. I was busy with preparations for the feast, so the review was postponed. We compensate for this small delay by treating ourself to a guided tour through both album and EP.
Temple of Demigod is a symphonic horror metal band originated in Armenia, located somewhere between Turkey, Russia, Iran, The Black Sea and The Caspian Sea. More specifically in Yerevan, for those who know their geography.

piggtråd
15.08.17

NORTHERN PLAGUE - SCORN THE IDLE

Northern Plague - Scorn the Idle Dice 6

Independent, 28.07.17
Some albums just click with me instantly. Such might of course simply turn out to be just catchy, audible available stuff that fades quickly, but trained ears should likely reveal such cheap tricks pretty fast.

When I accidentally came across Scorn the Idle, I instinctively knew that I had found precious metal, and after a few minutes I was also quite sure that this was solid metalwork with a lasting quality that would not lose its luster.


piggtråd
15.08.17

TEMPLE OF VOID - LORDS OF DEATH

Temple of Void - Lords of Death Dice 4

Shadow Kingdom & Hells Headbangers, 28.07.17
Temple of Void from Detroit impressed with their dark mixture of doom and death on the debut Of Terror and the Supernatural three years ago. Their doomy death were somewhat different from conventional death metal, while I wouldn't want to put the band in the doom/death pigeon-hole. The band's crushing dark expression lay somewhat in between. Somewhere... in the void.
With the Lords of Death, the guys show that they manage to maintain some kind of signature without repeating themselves.


barbed wire
14.08.17

DAWN OF DISEASE - ASCENSION GATE

Dawn Of Disease - Ascension Gate Dice 4

Napalm Records, 11.08.17
I literally feel that I've been flooded with releases from all kinds of deadly missionaries recently. I was fearing another display of generic Car Press Machine Metal when the Germans in Dawn Of Disease had once again set pressure to the hydraulics.
Deep within, though, I know that these guys serve the death sentence in an enjoyable and entertaining way.
The boys keep Gothenburg's melo-death at arm's length, and rather offer a combination of good melodies and crushing riffs.


barbed wire









Grading scale











Gorger