Background image
Name sign
Tab based menu

Reviews Week 15 - 2017

16.04.17

NIGHTBRINGER - TERRA DAMNATA

Nightbringer - Terra Damnata Dice 6

SOM - Underground Activists, 14.04.17
A few weeks ago I reviewed Czech Inferno*, a band with a distinct Greek whiff. In that regard, I mentioned a shortly “revisit with another Greek band”. It's not the first time I'm making a blunder when it comes to American Nightbringer.
The band recently participated on a very good split with Abigor, Thy Darkened Shade and Mortuus that I intend to get back to. I presented the band two years ago when reviewing their fourth work Ego Dominus Tuus, and awarding it five points. Unfortunately in Norwegian only. Let's not waste time on trivialities either way.

barbed wire
14.04.17

ÖRTH - NOCTURNO INFERNO (Re-Release)

Örth - Nocturno Inferno Dice 4

Satanic Art Media, 07.04.17
Örth was started by V-Rex in Bergen, Norway in 92/93. After a while, bass player Ares (Aeternus) and drummer Grim (Borknagar*) joined the team. Both associated with Gorgoroth* and Immortal. Örth was one of the west coast city's earliest black metal bands, but their only album, recorded in the middle of the nineties, was never distributed according to plan.
In this respect, Nocturno Inferno is among the most authentic tnbm recordings you've probably missed out on.


barbed wire
12.04.17

BEASTCRAFT - THE INFERNAL GOSPELS OF PRIMITIVE DEVIL WORSHIP

Beastcraft - The Infernal Gospels Of Primitive Devil Worship Dice 5

Pulverised Records, 07.04.17
Norwegian Beastcraft was formed in 2003 by Tsjuder's* Trondr Nefas (R.I.P.) and Sorath Northgrove (Hagl, Vulture Lord et al.). During ten years, they managed to release a pair of albums and a good handful of other releases.
Four years after the band broke up, the last chapter in the saga of Beastcraft is bestowed upon the non-worthy.
The Infernal Gospels Of Primitive Devil Worship is from what I've understood primarily based on re-surfaced demo recordings signed Trondr Nefas.


piggtråd
10.04.17

AZARATH - IN EXTREMIS

Azarath - In Extremis Dice 4

Agonia Records, 07.04.17
Six years have passed since the last sign of death from Polish Azarath.
The Poles, now honouring us with their sixth album, may not be a household name. This despite nearly 20 years of experience and a lot of slaying metal in the luggage. The band was started by among others previous Behemoth drummer Inferno and has rightfully been described as a demonic mutation of Krisiun and Behemoth with shades of Immolation, and I'll add a little Vader to the list. And not just to compensate for the geographic imbalance.

barbed wire









Grading scale











Gorger